Dual Use Goods and Technologies

2009 Plenary Meeting of the Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies

The fifteenth Plenary meeting of the Wassenaar Arrangement1, chaired by Ambassador John Barrett of Canada, was held in Vienna on 2 and 3 December 2009.

In 2009 efforts of the Arrangement continued to focus on the Arrangement’s overall functioning and its contribution to regional and international security and stability. The Plenary reaffirmed the importance of a focused Regional Views exercise based on substantive and useful information sharing among Participating States.

Further discussions took place on the issue of destabilising accumulations of conventional arms in order to address current and future challenges to regional and international security and stability. The Plenary decided to continue discussions on this issue.  Work on developing Best Practices Guidelines continued.

The Arrangement continues to keep pace with advances in technology, market trends and international security developments involving the spread of military and dual-use goods and technologies. The Plenary agreed to a significant number of amendments to the control lists, including some in technically complex and challenging areas such as Security of Information (encryption) and reception equipment for Global Navigation Satellite Systems. Participating States also worked actively to make the existing control text more easily understood and “user-friendly” for exporters and licensing authorities.

The Wassenaar Arrangement continues to undertake outreach dialogue with non-Participating States and international organisations aimed at promoting and sharing the Arrangement’s best practices related to export controls, and raising awareness of the Wassenaar Arrangement and its work. In 2009, outreach activities have included post-Plenary briefings, interaction with industry and bilateral outreach to a number of non-Participating States. The Plenary decided to conduct a technical briefing on changes to the Wassenaar Arrangement Control Lists for several non-Participating States in 2010.

At its meeting, the Plenary reiterated that the Wassenaar Arrangement is open to membership to all states who comply with the agreed criteria.

The Plenary thanked the Chair, Ambassador John Barrett (Canada) for his valuable contribution to the work of the Arrangement in 2009. The Plenary also thanked Ambassador Alphons Hamer (Netherlands) for his chairmanship of the General Working Group, Mr. Diego Martini (Italy) for his leadership of the Experts Group List Review process and Mr. Jürgen Böhler (Switzerland) for his leadership of the Licensing and Enforcement Officers’ Meeting (LEOM). Finally, the Plenary expressed its appreciation and gratitude to Ambassador Sune Danielsson (Sweden) as Head of the Wassenaar Arrangement Secretariat and his staff for ongoing support.

The next regular Wassenaar Arrangement Plenary meeting will take place in Vienna in December 2010. Switzerland will assume the Chair of the Plenary from 1 January 2010 and has designated Ambassador Bernhard Marfurt, its Permanent Representative to the International Organisations in Vienna, as the Plenary Chair.

Vienna, 3 December 2009